People, Tea, and Everything in Between

Working can either be a blast or an absolute drag. I suppose that’s the case for most occupations, but while I am out in the field or in the office I try to make the best of it. I have been out and about for the past few weeks traveling all over the state of wild and wonderful West Virginia to bring attention to Doc’s Tea and let customers try it for themselves.

As an intern, one of my responsibilities has been to maintain the Kroger accounts for the company. This means that I contact the store managers, set up demonstrations, actually go to the locations, and maintain positive relationships with our Kroger partners. It’s not always the most glamorous work, but I get to interact with many different people, which I appreciate. This past week I was able to visit one of my favorite Kroger locations. While I’ve never been to a store I didn’t enjoy, the staff at this place always make me feel welcome.

The Kroger in Barboursville, WV has some of the friendliest employees I have ever had the pleasure of working with, especially their manager of nutrition, Dave Tassen. My first visit was quite successful, and Dave made sure I had everything I needed. He complimented me on my communication skills and told me he couldn’t think of anyone more suited for work like this than me. He made me feel that I was actually doing my job well! It’s always nice to have your hard work validated, and Dave is one of the hardest working people I’ve met on my journey as an intern.

My second visit was even better. I guess I made quite an impression on Mr. Tassen because he had a surprise waiting for me when I arrived. Normally I have a kit that I have to tote around to all of my locations. Inside I have my table, tablecloth, boxes of tea, a trashcan, notebook, and information about Doc’s Tea and its products.Needless to say this can be quite a handful! Mr. Tassen went above and beyond the call of duty just to help me. He had a wonderful display set up, balloons included! He also went out of the way to find a special freezer, which he dedicated completely to Doc’s Tea.

 

image
Doc’s Tea demonstration display

It really warms my heart to see that I am leaving an impression on people, and I am doing good work for this wonderful company. I want to gain as much experience as I can from this internship, and I feel I am utilizing my time and skills effectively.

Leave a Reply

