Capstone: www.gofundme.com/go-with-the-flow-campaign

The saying goes, “when one door closes, another one opens.” This rings truer than ever before to me during this first week of classes. Why? Because every plan and backup plan that I had for my Capstone Project fell to pieces!

I’m not going to lie, I was in FULL PANIC MODE! The culmination of all I have learned in my time at Shepherd, and I had no project plan… Until, out of nowhere inspiration sparks! (I was actually scrolling through my facebook timeline, but I digress.) An idea came to me that would allow me to not only complete my project, but the really make an impact on my community.

My new and improved plan is to organize a fundraising event to help provide homeless women with much needed feminine hygiene supplies. When thinking about the necessities of the homeless community, one area that is overlooked a lot is feminine hygiene needs. Just because a woman is homeless doesn’t mean she doesn’t have her period! This issue is real, people. Women are having to face hell every month due to lack of access to something as simple as a tampon or pad.

hh-social-media

My goal is to collect donations, both physical and monetary to donate to the West Virginia Coalition to End Homelessness. To accomplish this, I have set up a gofundme page to collect donations from a wider area than just Shepherd University campus and community. I also plan on organizing drop-off locations locally, so people can donate physical products as well.

My hope as I move forward is to impact the lives of many women in this community and to raise awareness about an important issue. When it comes down to it, nobody should have to choose between having food or having tampons.

Check out my gofundme page here!  Together we can make a difference!

Leave a Reply

