Capstone: The Home Stretch

There is a little over a month until that fateful day. You know what I’m talking about. Graduation! This project has allowed me to use all my skills to produce something special. FLOWUsing Photoshop and the web program Canva, I was able to create my campaign logo; or as I like to call it, my FLOWgo. The Go With the Flow campaign has raised over $300 worth of feminine hygiene products and spread the word about the needs of homeless women.

The communication professors met with Capstone students to do a check-in. Here, I received some valuable advice on my projects that I will gladly use to make my project even better.

According to the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) women and families are the fastest growing segment of the homeless population, and 84% of homeless families are headed by women. “On average, a woman has her period from three to seven days and the average woman menstruates from age 13 until age 51. That means the average woman endures some 456 total periods over 38 years, or roughly 2,280 days with her period — 6.25 years of her life” (Huffington, 2015). When providing meals and clothing to children becomes a struggle, there is little room for much else. This includes purchasing pads and tampons every month. I’m happy that my Capstone is going to do something worthwhile. I am excited to see how everything comes together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Feature Photo Credit to Sor Cyress

Leave a Reply

